My Kitchen and its Limited Accoutrements

21 Feb

I live in a college owned off-campus house. The tenants before me were three frat boys who nicknamed the house Krusty. Sadly, the name stuck, so I live in Krusty with my two and a half roommates and one especially stinky cat (whose name is un-creatively Stinky).

The Cooking On Empty Kitchen

The Cooking On Empty Kitchen

I love Krusty and my favorite part is the kitchen. The kitchen is equal in size to our living room and triple the size of my bedroom. It’s nothing special, but after being condemned to communal galley kitchens for the past three years, I’ll take anything.

As you can see from my masterful pictorial representation, my kitchen is not, by any stretch, pretty. It has limited counter and cooking space, which is mostly due to the fact that the counter and sink are constantly overflowing with clean-dirty hybrid dishes.

We have a small plastic table, which doubles as prep space and eating area. The school provided us with a full-sized refrigerator and freezer, which I like to brag about because I no longer need to balance a weeks worth of groceries in my micro-fridge. Our kitchen is rounded out with a microwave and miniature oven. It looks like a disaster, but lets face it, it could be worse.

As messy as it may be, it is fully stocked. Here are the ingredients I keep on hand at all times –

Necessary ingredients to have in your college pantry

Necessary ingredients to have in your college pantry

  • Balsamic Vinegar – Doesn’t have to be the good stuff
  • Butter – I’m not afraid!
  • Thyme – Dried
  • Oregano – Also dried
  • Dill – Yes, I know fresh is better, but I’m one for convenience
  • Sesame oil
  • Cinnamon – My roommate’s Greek, so this is a must
  • Salt and Pepper – We don’t own salt and pepper shakers, so we always pour from the containers #brokecollegestudents
  • Olive oil
  • Vegetable oil
  • Garlic

I add and subtract ingredients depending on the circumstances, but these are my necessities.

I also have a few standard pieces of cooking equipment I keep around the house-

The most essential cooking tools

The most essential cooking tools

  • Fish spatula – It’s supposed to specifically be used for fish, but I grab it for everything
  • Thin plastic cutting board – I suggest having two (one for raw meat and one for everything else)
  • Heavy duty scissors
  • Mini-steamer – Bought this one off eBay for my mom but kept it because it works too well
  • Cheese grater – I’m lactose intolerant, but I will eat shredded cheese until I die
  • Pasta strainer – I own the smallest one known to man
  • Frying pan
  • Garlic press – I hate the lingering smell of garlic on my hands
  • Bottle opener – It’s college

Now that I’ve exposed dirty secrets of my college kitchen, it’s time to make food.

Why not leave a comment?

