Cooking Greek Chicken on One Foot

23 Feb
Megan cooking on one foot

Megan cooking on one foot

I’m happy to announce that I am now one footed. I sprained my ankle at practice the other day and am now hobbling around campus and my kitchen on crutches.

I’ve never been on crutches before and for those of you who have, I express my sincerest condolences.  Crutches are  miserable.

Since I refuse to slow down my life for an injury, I’m determined to continue making tasty and simple recipes. Here is one of my recent one-foot-wondinners (Yes, I am proud of that pun).

Greek Chicken with Quinoa and Spinach

This is a super simple and incredibly cheap recipe ($7) that was tasty enough to make my roommates compliment me without having to fish for it.

Lemon, Olive Oil, Garlic, Oregano, Salt, Pepper

Lemon, Olive Oil, Garlic, Oregano, Salt, Pepper

Ingredients: (Serves 2.5)

  • 5 Chicken drumsticks
  • 1 Lemon
  • Oregano
  • 1 Clove garlic (crushed)
  • Olive oil
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Quinoa
  • Spinach

The Process:

1. Place the drumsticks in a gallon plastic bag. Add lemon juice, garlic, olive oil, oregano, a pinch of salt and a pinch of pepper. Use just enough olive oil to coat the chicken and add oregano to taste. I added a hefty portion, but it’s up to you.

Greek Chicken

Greek Chicken

2. Let the drumsticks marinade between 12 and 48 hours.  This means some foresight is involved, which is something I tend to struggle with.  A trick I use is to put the chicken in the marinade right after you get home from the  supermarket.  It’ll be sitting in your refrigerator regardless, so it might as well be bathing in olive oil and lemon.

3. Preheat the oven to 425. Lay the drumsticks on a cookie sheet lined with aluminum foil (this will save you cleaning time). Bake for 35 minutes, flipping at 17 minutes.

In the meantime:

Quinoa and Spinach

Quinoa and Spinach

1. With ten minutes left on the chicken timer, boil 1 cup of water.  Add 1/2 cup of quinoa, take off heat and let sit. The quinoa will absorb the water and continue cooking. This was my first time making quinoa and it was amazingly easy.

2. Place fresh spinach in steamer. Steam for 2 minutes. I buy fresh spinach because it doubles as salad and as a steamed side veggie. Frozen is completely fine, so don’t feel like you need the fresh stuff.

Once the chicken is done, plate up and eat!

I was completely surprised by how well the drumsticks took the Greek marinade. They were even delicious enough to appease my Greek roommate. That’s what I call a good recipe.

The next time I make this, I’m going to try pulling the chicken off the bone and putting it on a pita with some tzatziki sauce … yum.

Why not leave a comment?

