Quesadilla Pizza

18 Mar

Tortilla, pizza sauce, mozzarella cheeseEveryone loves pizza and everyone loves quesadillas. These two truths inspired my most recent culinary creation – the quesadilla pizza!

My roommate had left over pizza toppings from a recent pizza making extravaganza (there’s not better way to explain it, so I’ll leave it at that). I had whole wheat tortillas left from my Distrito inspired fish tacos, so I decided to combine the two to make a quick, no purchase necessary dinner.

Here’s all you need.

Quesadilla Pizza Ingredients: (Serves 2)Pizza Quesadilla

  • 4 whole wheat tortillas
  • 1 can pizza sauce
  • 1 cup of grated mozzarella cheese

For a basic pizza stop there. If you want to be adventurous add:

  • 1/4 cup chopped broccoli
  • 1/4 cup chopped red pepper
  • 1/4 cup black olives

Step 1: Spread pizza sauce over one tortilla.

Step 2: Sprinkle with mozzarella cheese. Add broccoli, peppers and olives if desired.

Pizza QuesadillaStep 3: Top with other tortilla.

Step 4: Spray a large pan with no-stick cooking spray and heat to medium heat.

Step 5: Place quesadilla in pan and cook for 4 minutes (or until tortilla begins to brown). Flip quesadilla and cook until cheese is melted and tortilla is slightly brown.

Step 6: Cut into quarters and enjoy!

This is a super simple dinner that any college cook can pull off. It’s great because you can personalize it to your personal pizza tastes or to whatever you have in your refrigerator.

This is also a fun meal for entertaining. Give everyone their own tortillas and let them create their own combination of pizza toppings. It’s a hands-on dinner that everyone will love.

5 Responses to “Quesadilla Pizza”

  1. Katie White March 18, 2013 at 12:25 pm #

    I have to stop looking at your blog when I’m hungry, because everytime I do I start drooling on my computer. Looks delicious!

    • meganrodkey March 18, 2013 at 12:33 pm #

      If I’m making you drool then I’m doing my job! Thanks!

  2. Brent l College Recipe Cafe April 15, 2013 at 8:22 am #

    Thanks for visiting my blog Megan! I’m happy you did…now I get to try this Quesadilla Pizza! Looking forward to more of your food ideas. Cheers!

    • meganrodkey April 15, 2013 at 11:40 am #

      I’m so happy you like the recipe! I’m just as excited to try your sloppy joes. I’m always looking for cheap and easy dishes!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Top 5 Super Bowl Party Recipes — Recap | Cooking On Empty - January 30, 2014

    […] 3. Quesadilla Pizza […]

Why not leave a comment?

