The Secrets of Acorn Squash

20 Mar

Acorn SquashOn my most recent supermarket expedition, I decided to buy something I’ve never cooked before. After wondering around the produce section for 20 minutes, while my roommate shot me death glares of boredom, I stumbled across the simple, acorn squash.

They’re the funny shaped squash that look like a cross between an acorn, a small watermelon, and a ruffle potato chip. As a typical broke college student, I checked out the price and for under $2 a squash, I knew I found my ingredient.

Once I brought it back to my college house, the Googling began. I found some great acorn squash baking tips online, but couldn’t settle for one recipe. That’s why I’m giving you two acorn squash recipes for the price of one! Feel free to pick a favorite.

Brown Sugar Baked Acorn Squash Ingredients: (Serves 2)

  • 1/2 acorn squash
  • 1 tablespoon brown sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil

Parmesan and Thyme Crusted Acorn Squash Ingredients: (Serves 2)

  • 1/2 acorn squash
  • 2 tablespoons grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1/4 teaspoon thyme
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil

Step 1: Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Acorn Squash

Step 2: Cut acorn squash in half lengthwise (from top to bottom).

Acorn Squash Bottom

Step 3: Slice off small portions of the bottom of the halved squashes, so that they sit without wobbling.

Acorn Squash Seeds

Step 4: Scoop out the seeds and clean the inside of the squash. Score the flesh several times with a knife.

Acorn Squash Bake

Step 5: Coat the exposed fleshy part of the squash with olive oil and place halved squash on greased cookie sheet, fleshy side down.

Step 6: Bake for 40 minutes.

Acorn Squash Cheese

Acorn Squash Sugar

Step 7: Remove from oven. Flip over squash and top one half with brown sugar and cinnamon. Top the other half with Parmesan and thyme.

Step 8: Bake for 10 minutes.

Acorn Squash

Step 9: Let cool and enjoy!

There you have it. Two easy ways to take an unknown ingredient and make it delicious! Let me know if you have any other acorn squash recipes that I should try out. Now that I know how to cook it, acorn squash sure to show up on my plate more often.

Why not leave a comment?

