Easy Easter Side Dish: Pineapple Stuffing

1 Apr

Pineapple StuffingHappy (belated) Easter! I was lucky enough to sneak home for Easter dinner last night. In my family, holidays are synonymous with food. This year, my mom concocted an Easter feast consisting of double-smoked double-glazed ham, deviled eggs, rosemary roasted potatoes, olive oil grilled asparagus, baked sweet potatoes and homemade cranberry sauce. Needless to say, I’m still full.

I wanted to add my own addition to our Easter dinner, but after seeing my mom’s menu, I was stumped as to what to make. That is, until I remembered by boyfriend’s favorite dish – pineapple stuffing.

Pineapple Stuffing Ingredients

Bread, sugar, eggs, butter, crushed pineapple

My boyfriend waits all year for his mom to make her infamous stuffing and after trying it, I know why. Pineapple stuffing is like a mix between stuffing and bread pudding. It’s sweet and tangy and goes beautifully with ham. It can even function as a dessert.

With that in mind, I decided it was time for my own foray into the world of pineapple stuffing. If you’re a little skeptical, don’t be. Pineapple stuffing is a fast, easy and delicious dish that should make an appearance at every Easter dinner.

Pineapple Stuffing Ingredients: (Serves 4-6)

  • 5 slices of bread (cut into bite sized pieces)
  • 4 eggs
  • 3/4 cup of sugar
  • 1 can crushed pineapple
  • 2 tablespoons of butter

Step 1: Preheat oven to 350.

Step 2: In a large mixing bowl, cream together eggs and sugar.

Eggs and Sugar

Step 3: Add bread and canned pineapple (juice and all) and mix together.

Pineapple Stuffing

Step 4: Pour mixture into a greased 8 x 8 baking dish. Dot the top with butter.

Pineapple Stuffing with Butter

Step 5: Bake for about 45 minutes (until the top begins to brown).

Pineapple Stuffing Crust

Step 6: Enjoy!

My family loved this dish. This version has more of a stuffing consistency, but if you want yours to be more like a custard, add milk and butter to the eggs and sugar mixture. This will make the dish richer. It’s also traditional to use white bread as the base. I used a crusty french bread, which gave the dish extra texture.

Next time you’re looking for a crowd pleasing Easter side, give pineapple stuffing a try. It’s sure to make even the Easter bunny hop for joy.

2 Responses to “Easy Easter Side Dish: Pineapple Stuffing”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Easter Leftovers Transformed | Cooking On Empty - April 3, 2013

    […] I expressed in my last post, Easy Easter Side Dish: Pineapple Stuffing, my family goes a little overboard when it comes to holiday dinners. Lucky for me, that means […]

  2. Easter Side Dish - Pineapple Stuffing! | Everleigh After - April 28, 2014

    […] Now that we live a little higher on the eastern seaboard, we actually make it to most of the family holidays with my husband’s family in New Jersey. Easter is pretty special to us because that was the first holiday we flew up for from Miami after we became a couple, about 5 years ago. This year was also Everleigh’s first Easter and so I definitely wanted to bring a little something to add to the array of dishes. After a few minutes on Pinterest, I found something called Pineapple Stuffing from a blog called Cooking On Empty. […]

Why not leave a comment?

