Easter Leftovers Transformed

3 Apr
Left Overs

Easter leftovers: Ham, asparagus, potatoes, Brussels sprouts and pineapple stuffing

As I expressed in my last post, Easy Easter Side Dish: Pineapple Stuffing, my family goes a little overboard when it comes to holiday dinners. Lucky for me, that means plenty of leftovers. As a broke college student, nothing’s better than free food.

The problem that I have with leftovers is that after gorging myself on ham, pineapple stuffing and potatoes, the last thing I want the next day is more ham, pineapple stuffing and potatoes.

I’m not one to throw out perfectly good food just because I’m tired of the flavor profile. I prefer transforming it. Here are two easy recipes that take Easter staples and transform them into new meals.

Deviled Egg Salad SandwichDeviled Eggs

My mom always makes deviled eggs for Easter. I love them, but we always have a bunch leftover. Instead of throwing them away, I decided to turn them into an easy and satisfying lunch. Here’s what you do.

Ingredients: (Serves 1)

  • 4 halved deviled eggs
  • 2 slices whole wheat bread (toasted)

Step 1: Dice the deviled eggs and mix together until they become the consistency of egg salad.

Step 2: Scoop the deviled egg mixture onto the bread.

Deviled Egg Salad SandwichStep 3: Top with other half and enjoy!

Note: If you have any lettuce, tomato or onion in your refrigerator, feel free to add these to your sandwich for extra crunch.

If you like egg salad, give deviled egg salad a try. It’s super easy and a great way to use up Easter egg leftovers.

Ham, Potato and Asparagus Tortilla

Last year, I studied abroad in London and took a weekend trip to Seville. I mistakenly ordered a tortilla for lunch one day. Like any American, I expected a cornflour flat bread, instead I received an egg and potato dish similar to a frittata. It was absolutely delicious and the inspiration for this leftover transformation.

Leftovers

Ham, Potato and Asparagus

The difference between a tortilla and a frittata is that a tortilla is traditionally a potato and onion mixture held together by eggs. Frittatas are more similar to open faced omelets and more egg based. Tortillas are also made solely on the stove top, instead of in the oven like frittatas. The recipe I created is a cross between the two, but I like calling it a tortilla because it brings back memories of Seville.

Ingredients: (Serves 3-4)Leftover

  • 6 eggs
  • 1/2 cup chopped Easter ham
  • 1/2 cup sliced precooked potatoes
  • 1/2 cup chopped precooked asparagus
  • 2 tablespoons canola oil
  • 1 tablespoon milk

Step 1: In a small sauté pan, heat up ham, potatoes and asparagus. Then take off heat and set aside.

Step 2: Crack eggs into a medium mixing bowl. Add milk and mix together. Add warm ham, potato and asparagus mixture.

Leftover TortillaStep 3: Add 1 tablespoon of canola oil to the small sauté pan and heat on medium-high. Add egg mixture. Reduce the heat to medium-low and let the eggs set (about 6 minutes).

Step 4: Once the outer eggs are set, place a plate over the top of the sauté pan and flip the tortilla onto the plate. Quickly add the other tablespoon of canola oil to the sauté pan and slide the tortilla back into the pan (uncooked side down).

Step 5: Let tortilla cook for another 4 minutes.

Step 6: Slide tortilla onto a plate and cut into pieces. Serve hot or cold.

Overall, the dish turned out pretty great. I did have some trouble with the flipping portion because the center of my tortilla was runny. This lead to some egg loss-age in the flipping process.Tortilla

I looked for a solution to this problem and it seems that keeping the heat medium-low is the key. This will help cook the center without burning the outside. When making my tortilla, I got a little anxious and cranked up the heat, which threw off the cooking balance.

Does anyone have any other solutions to my tortilla flipping conundrum?

Leftovers can seem a little humdrum, but with some creativity they can turn into an amazing meal. What are some of your favorite leftover creations?

Why not leave a comment?

