Healthier Chicken Parmesan

6 May

Chicken ParmesanI love chicken Parmesan, but I mean, who doesn’t? There’s nothing better than a pan-fried, breaded chicken cutlet smothered with mozzarella cheese and tomato sauce.

As much as I wish I could eat chicken Parm daily, it’s not a particularly waistline friendly dish.

With that in mind, I made it my mission to make a healthier version of my favorite meal. That way, I could eat it every night without having to buy bigger pants. Here’s what I came up with.

Healthier Chicken Parmesan

Ingredients: (Serves 2)

  • 2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 4 tablespoons of jarred bruschetta
  • 2 tablespoons of olive oil
  • 1/4 cup shredded low-fat mozzarella
  • salt and pepper to taste

Step 1: Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.

Step 2: Heat a skillet to medium-high heat and add olive oil. Season chicken breasts with salt and pepper and brown for about 3 to 4 minutes a side.

Grilled Chicken Breasts

Step 3: Place chicken breasts on a greased cookie sheet. Spoon 2 tablespoons bruschetta over the top of each breast and lightly sprinkle with cheese.

Chicken Parmesan

Step 4: Bake for about 10 minutes, until chicken in fully cooked and the cheese is bubbling.

Baked Chicken Parmesan

Step 5: Serve and enjoy!

Chicken Parmesan with Farro

This recipe gets at the flavors of chicken Parm, without the heavy fried breading or heavy cheese.

The real secret of this dish is swapping out traditional tomato sauce for bruschetta topping. The bruschetta topping has very few calories, but tons more flavor than tomato sauce.

I also served this with faro instead of traditional pasta. Farro is a whole grain that has twice the fiber and protein than pasta, making it a great substitute.

Once you bring it all together, you have a great tasting, lower calorie version of an Italian favorite. Who wouldn’t want that?

One Response to “Healthier Chicken Parmesan”

  1. Liz May 8, 2013 at 10:36 am #

    Thanks for stopping by and liking my scones. I really appreciate. The chicken looks yummy and I love parmesan. I shall bookmark this one. Have a great week!

Why not leave a comment?

