Alton Brown’s Mushroom Stroganoff

22 Sep

StroganoffI was watching Best Thing I Ever Made the other day — the Food Network show that forces famous chefs to tell you them most delicious food they’ve ever eaten while all you have in your refrigerator is expired Greek yogurt and brown bananas. Without fail, the show always leaves me hungry, jealous, and ready to cook.

In this particular episode, Alton Brown described a mushroom stroganoff recipe that sounded like heaven. In that instant, I decided the dish would be my next cooking endeavor. Here’s the recipe.

Alton Brown’s Mushroom Stroganoff with Goat CheeseStroganoff Ingredients

Ingredients (Serves 6)

  • 1 bag wide egg noodles
  • 3 tablespoons butter
  • 5 portabella mushrooms (cubed)
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 4 scallions (sliced and green and white ends separated)
  • 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour
  • 14 oz can of beef broth
  • 8 oz container non-fat Greek yogurt
  • 4 oz goat cheese
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper

Step 1: Cook noodles as recommended until al dente and set aside.

Step 2: In a large skillet, heat butter on medium-high heat. Increase heat to high, add mushrooms and salt. Saute until the mushrooms are lightly brown and release their liquid. Add the white bottoms of the scallions and saute for 3 minutes.

StroganoffStep 3: Add flour and stir for 1 minute. Deglaze the pan with beef broth. Bring to a simmer and let cook for 10 minutes.

StroganoffStep 4: Add yogurt, goat cheese, and pepper. Stir ingredients together. Let simmer for 2 minutes.

StroganoffStep 5: Ladle mushroom sauce over noodles. Sprinkle with chopped green scallions.

StroganoffStep 6: Serve and enjoy!

For an Alton Brown recipe, the dish is surprisingly simple and undeniably delicious. The goat cheese adds a tangy element to the earthy mushrooms and make it a worth while recipe.

14 Responses to “Alton Brown’s Mushroom Stroganoff”

  1. Lauren Gilbert December 26, 2013 at 1:05 pm #

    I love mushrooms, and this sounds divine. Thank you for sharing this!

    • meganrodkey December 26, 2013 at 2:26 pm #

      Thanks! It’s a really great recipe, and I’m not surprised it’s one of Alton’s favorites. Thanks for leaving a comment!

  2. ohlidia February 2, 2014 at 11:28 am #

    Funny, I’m planning on making a stroganoff in honour of the Olympics in Sochi and was wondering about just a mushroom version. Glad you stumbled upon my blog! 🙂

    • meganrodkey February 3, 2014 at 9:23 am #

      Thanks! Mushrooms are a perfect substitute for vegetarian stroganoff!

  3. hobacaitbe February 23, 2014 at 5:32 pm #

    This sounds great. I’ve been learning about wild mushrooms for the past few years especially choice edible ones. I will add this recipe to my mushroom section. Thanks,
    Ed

    • meganrodkey February 24, 2014 at 4:27 pm #

      Happy to help grow your list of mushroom recipes! Thanks for stopping by!

  4. firecook February 23, 2014 at 5:45 pm #

    Thank you for liking a post . You like food too :0 )Nice recipe I like Alton Brown

    • meganrodkey February 24, 2014 at 4:26 pm #

      Thanks! It’s a delicious recipe!

      • firecook February 24, 2014 at 4:30 pm #

        Sounds great:)

      • meganrodkey March 5, 2014 at 8:08 am #

        Thanks! It’s perfect for a chilly winter day!

      • firecook March 5, 2014 at 2:25 pm #

        My days are not to chilly it gets warm here early had some grayness too. It gives us what it wants:)

  5. th3bak3rman March 22, 2014 at 12:54 pm #

    I like watching “The Best Thing I Ever Ate/Cooked” series. Funny thing, I just finished my lunch. I ate a meatball sandwich, the meatballs which were leftover from a meatball stroganoff recipe. Traditionally, I make stroganoff with sour cream. I don’t know if you’ve ever made it that way or not. I was hoping to have a comparison of sour cream to the yogurt/goat cheese mixture.

    By the way, your blog’s title and About me comment at the top are very clever, indeed!

    • meganrodkey March 24, 2014 at 1:29 pm #

      I think flavor-wise sour cream and the yogurt/goat cheese mixture would accomplish the same goals. The main difference would be with the consistency. Since the goat cheese is heavier it adds a little more body to the dish. Sour cream has a higher water content and therefore creates a thinner dish. That’s my initial reaction. Hope it help!

      • th3bak3rman March 24, 2014 at 6:29 pm #

        Thanks. I appreciate the feedback.

Why not leave a comment?

