100-calorie trail mix recipes

6 Nov

TrailMix1Whenever 10 a.m. rolls around at work, I reach into my bag and scarf down a sickeningly sweet granola bar. I don’t particularity like granola bars, but in my constant rush to get out the door every morning, they’re all I have time to grab as a mid-morning snack.

I know I’m not alone in this act, therefore I attempted to develop some alternatives. What I ended up creating were three nutrient-rich and protein-packed trail mixes that used nothing more than what I had in my cabinets.

I portioned each out  to be about 100 calories and saved them in Ziplock bags to eat as 10 a.m. snacks throughout the week. Here’s what I came up with.

Traditional trail mix recipeTrailMix4

Ingredients: (serves 1)

  • 1 teaspoon dried cherries
  • 1 teaspoon dried cranberries
  • 1 tablespoon chopped cashews
  • 1 tablespoon sugar almond slices
  • 1 teaspoon of chocolate chunks

Step 1: Combine ingredients in a small bowl. Enjoy!

Satisfyingly sweet trail mixTrailMix5

Ingredients: (Serves 1)

  • 1 tablespoon chocolate chunks
  • Handful of mini marshmallows
  • 1 tablespoon of shredded coconut
  • 1 tablespoon of sugar almonds

Step 1: Combine ingredients in a small bowl. Enjoy!

Simply savory trail mixTrailMix6

Ingredients: (Serves 1)

  • 4 mini cheddar rice cakes (broken in half)
  • Handful of dried mushroom chips
  • 1 teaspoon dried Cecil fava mix
  • 2 sesame crackers (broken in half)

Step 1: Combine ingredients in a small bowl. Enjoy!TrailMix2

There you have it. Three 100-calorie trail mix recipes that are way better for you than a granola bar. Feel free to start crafting trail mix concoctions of your own. Let me know if you come up with any good combinations!

 

Why not leave a comment?

