Funfetti Pretzel Bites from Brooke Eats Sweets

28 Mar

I’m not much of a baker. I love cooking, but I struggle in the baking department. Not wanting to leave you without any dessert recipes, I asked my good friend Brooke if she’d share some of her baking creations with you.

Brooke is one of the most ambitious and creative college bakers I know. She’s always searching out new baking recipes and figuring out ways to make them even better. She’s made some pretty advanced items, but I asked her to share an easy, fast and cheap no-bake recipe that any college student could tackle. Plus, it uses funfetti cake mix and what college student doesn’t love that?

***

Hi everyone! I was inspired by my mom’s upcoming birthday to make something for Cooking On Empty. My mom and I are crazy similar, including the fact that neither of us have a “sweet tooth threshold.” We have caught each other more times than I would like to admit sneaking spoonfuls of sprinkles from the container… before noon.

pretzel bites

I am completely helpless when it comes to salty-sweet combinations, so when I saw Funfetti Cake Batter Pretzel Bites on The Domestic Rebel I had to check it out. I did a little altering to the recipe (white chocolate instead of almond bark and pretzel squares instead of regular pretzels) because I had them in the pantry, and because it’s snowing outside (tempting me to stay snuggly and cozy indoors). Nothing like a white, wintery, spring break!

With that in mind, I thought this would be perfect for a college student or person with a hectic schedule. You only need five ingredients for the entire recipe-none of which are too hard to find. They are convenient for sharing (or consuming entirely by yourself), and don’t require any baking. Enjoy! (And happy birthday Mom!)

pretzel bites

Funfetti Cake Batter Pretzel Bites

By Hayley at thedomesticrebel.com (adapted by Brooke at Brooke Eats Sweets)

Ingredients:

  • 1 box Funfetti cake mix
  • 1 stick butter, softened
  • Mini pretzels (or pretzel snaps)
  • 1/2 package white chocolate almond bark (or white chocolate, I used Wilson Pink Candy Melts)
  • Sprinkles*

Line a rimmed baking sheet with foil and set aside. Meanwhile, in a large bowl, mix together the cake mix + butter until a thick dough forms. Make sure you incorporate all the cake mix crumbs at the bottom!

Spread the mini pretzels out evenly on the baking sheet. Using a small teaspoon or cookie dough scoop, portion a teaspoon or so of dough onto a pretzel. Gently press a second pretzel into the batter, creating a sandwich. Repeat until all the pretzels are filled.

Freeze the pretzels for about an hour until chilled. Prepare the white chocolate bark according to package directions until smooth & melted. Dip the end of a pretzel sandwich into the white chocolate, then immediately roll in sprinkles. Repeat with all the sandwiches; allow the chocolate to harden before serving.

Store these airtight in the freezer (how I like them) for about a week.

sprinkles

*I bought my sprinkles at the bakery in my local grocery store. I like this option because I get a huge amount of sprinkles without paying a lot (a 12-ounce container is $3 at my store). If you’re trying to pinch pennies, check this option out instead of buying.

***

Thanks for sharing that awesome recipe with us Brooke! It looks delicious and is simple enough that even I could do it! If you want to check out more of Brooke’s delightful baking recipes, click over to her college baking blog: Brooke Eats Sweets.

2 Responses to “Funfetti Pretzel Bites from Brooke Eats Sweets”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Summer Colors on Snowy Spring Days | Brooke Eats Sweets - March 28, 2013

    […] I made Funfetti pretzel bites–the post is sponsored on my friend’s blog: Cooking On Empty, check it out!  They’re really […]

  2. Top 5 Super Bowl Party Recipes — Recap | Cooking On Empty - January 30, 2014

    […] 4. Funfetti Pretzel Bites from Brooke Eats Sweets […]

Why not leave a comment?

